Misc Attempt - Clean check/advice, tips, tricks? | MangaHelpers

• Join in and nominate your favorite shows of the summer season 2023!

Misc Attempt Clean check/advice, tips, tricks?

FANtomCore

初心者/ Shoshinsha / Beginner
Reaction score
Country
United States
Ok, I'm NOT experienced at cleaning, I just took it up recently, and I'm basically trying to replicate certain cleaning styles. I'm just trying to eye ball others cleans and see if I can come close.

Here is my first cleaning attempt with the raw shown, I blew up the image and then did the necessary things to clean it. I wanted to ask the experienced cleaners if this cleaning style is too smooth for its own good or is it okay considering the raw quality. The clean isn't much bigger than the raw's file size so I did manage to keep the file size in check. Any advice would be welcome before I plan to work extensively with many tankobons that i plan to debind and scan myself then clean if necessary. So before I take on that kind of project I want to be sure how to do the cleaning job right if I have to do it myself.

I'm still trying to figure out a good font type as well, doesn't fonts need to be different within a chapter if different emotions are expressed, to use the same font all throughout the chapter seems dull, doesn't it?

SHARPENED

Last edited:

Name-Undecided

Manga Editor
下級員 / Kakyuuin / Jr. Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
Blurry and messy. Even for a first attempt this is no good.
1. Clean it without using filters. They almost never help.
2. Level properly.
3. Burn the blacks if necessary.
4. Clean out the whites with the white brush or the dodge tool if necessary.
5. Do steps 3 and 4 in moderation.
6. Leave the greys alone.
7. It's a magazine raw. Don't fret if it's not perfect.

FANtomCore

Reaction score
Country
United States
Blurry and messy. Even for a first attempt this is no good. What about my second attempt clean on top?