Discussion - How long did it take you to learn Japanese and start reading RAW manga? | MangaHelpers

• Join in and nominate your favorite shows of the summer season 2023!

Discussion How long did it take you to learn Japanese and start reading RAW manga?

rEv0lving sUshi

初心者/ Shoshinsha / Beginner
Reaction score
Country
Bahamas
:) I just started studying Japanese on my own... and I'm wondering how long will it take me to be able to actually read raw mangas.
I've already memorized the Kana and read some basic grammar. But I still cant seem to read raws...

:) If you could also put some advice on steps you took to study Japanese that actually worked for you. Like what did you study first, books you read, etc.

Would really appreciate your answers. :D

cmertb

Translator
上級員 / Jyoukuuin / Sr. Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
Obviously, it depends on how much effort you put into it. I think it's doable in 6 months with enough diligence. But I'm pretty certain you need kanji knowledge to read manga, as well as about 3-4K most common vocab memorized. It's not practical to attempt manga before this (it's possible in theory, but in practice you'll want to kill yourself), and you'll still be relying on a dictionary for almost every bubble.

For next steps, I would say:
1) http://www.guidetojapanese.org/learn/grammar Read all of this
2) http://www.timwerx.net/language/jpverbs/index.htm Also all of this
3) You already know kana so go practice here: http://life.ou.edu/stories/
4) Learn kanji (how to learn them is a separate and for some reason controversial topic)
5) Get your vocab to at least 3K using SRS (try smart.fm, their own introductory lists, not the poor quality user content)

Then you're ready to start reading manga without too much suffering. Oh, and don't stop vocab, 3K is not nearly sufficient.

kacstereo

Reaction score
Country
Colombia