Question - Supplies | MangaHelpers

• Join in and nominate your favorite shows of the summer season 2023!

Question Supplies

BakuFan

初心者/ Shoshinsha / Beginner
Reaction score
Country
United States
I am a beginner so I was wondering what supplies do I need to start drawing manga???

Charlie

Seller of goods 🐐
伝説メンバー / Densetsu / Legendary Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
The question is vague, can you be more specif?

You mean equipment, I assume?

~Coffee~

MH Senpai
英雄メンバー / Eiyuu Menbaa / Hero Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
Im by no means an expert in drawing manga~

But I do know that there are 'Kits' that would be good for a beginner, so I would suggest grabbing one of those.

Here is a link to some as an example - http://www.japanimation.com/deleter/kits/

Comes with items such as -

Drawing Paper
Grid Comic Book Paper
Screen Tone

Pens
Markers
Inks
Brushes

and other basic and helpful items~

BakuFan

初心者/ Shoshinsha / Beginner
Reaction score
Country
United States
yes I mean equipment ^^

Gintara

Artist
上級員 / Jyoukuuin / Sr. Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
Well I think it would be better for you to get a grasp of drawing very well, so a pencil and a sketchbook will do you good. Whether it's a comic or manga, getting the basics done is a must. Work on anatomy, get references, etc.

I'm assuming you want to make manga traditionally, so get all of the necessary items: inks, pens, brushes, a good eraser, various straight edges, and more. You may want to start off small first so you get a good idea of what you're doing and then invest more of your time and money in getting these supplies.

Here's one of the sites you can probably get some supplies: http://deleter-mangashop.com/index_en_usd.html