Discussion - How long did it take you to learn Japanese and start reading RAW manga? | Page 2 | MangaHelpers

• Join in and nominate your favorite shows of the summer season 2023!

Discussion How long did it take you to learn Japanese and start reading RAW manga?

Riiko

初心者/ Shoshinsha / Beginner
Reaction score
Country
United States
Re: Question: How long did it take you to learn Japanese and start reading RAW manga?

I honestly think reading manga is one thing, while translating is something entirely different, requiring a different skill set altogether. Raghu is right in saying that it requires a lot of patience and experience. Learning Japanese is the first step, reading raw manga the next, and then translating yet another big step above that. I've been translating for nearly 2 years and it still isn't easy :sweat I can read a manga chapter in 5 minutes but it could take me 5 times that amount of time to translate that same chapter.
This is totally true. I've just begun my translating journey and have realized that it is a lot more difficult than it seems. I would say I'm proficient in Japanese after 5 years, but translating is a whole different beast. I used to understand the point to proofreaders, and now I see they're essential. At this point, my translations sound like a foreigner learning English, and it's my native language :/.

Anyway, I can't really pinpoint the point in my Japanese learning career where I was able to read and understand manga, but I would say it was about two years in. Maybe later, since I didn't receive formal training until three years into learning. It's certainly empowering to be able to read manga now :3!

smaller

Reaction score
Country
United States